Research Into Fabrics

I have been doing some research in order to find a possible material that could be used to build upon layers onto my wall hanging and I have found a few possible options.

One of which could be using a mesh or netting. I found some on eBay which is actually a bridal veil material but it is evident from the images that you can see through it and I feel that it wouldn’t distract away from the first layer.

Furthermore, I also came across a really interesting fabric known as ‘Angelina Fibre’ and I found this website which has offered me a lot of valuable information about the fibre/ material. If the college doesn’t have any of this in the textiles department then I will purchase some of this website.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 14.36.28Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 14.36.36

I feel that the way in which the fibres will reflect the light will create a really interesting effect, I think I will use colours that are still quite similar to the embroidery threads that I have already used and I will start out doing some samples to ensure that it will definitely work well with the piece.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Soft-Bridal-Veiling-Wedding-Prom-Overlay-Tulle-Tutu-Net-Fabric-300-cm-Wide-WHITE-/291773481432

http://www.winghamwoolwork.co.uk/64-angelina-fibre

Leave a Reply

