Artist Research: Sandra Golbert

I came across Sandra Golbert whilst look through inspiration pages on Pinterest and a piece of her artwork called Barnacles interested me. Upon some research I discovered her website and was fascinated by the variety in the of ways in which she works, from creating quilts to art that can be worn as jewellery.

However, it was the Barnacles piece that was my particular favourite. This is due to the fact that I feel that although it has a certain simplicity to it when you study the piece, in actual fact the way in which she will have created this piece would have been complex as it is three dimensional, Furthermore, I really like the way that piece has a curl to it so that it can hang over the edge of shelves, this makes its reflection to the natural world even more realistic. I feel that this piece has influenced some of my ideas that I am considering experimenting with for my final piece due to the fact that I feel that it would be interesting to have some three dimensional aspects to my wall hanging using fabric manipulation techniques. Therefore, I have taken out a book in the library that teaches fabric manipulation techniques so that I can experiment with trying out different methods in order to replicate underwater textures on corals etc.

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 14.14.53.pngScreen Shot 2017-04-10 at 14.15.03.png

 

Sandra Golbert has also created some quilt hangings that are influenced by works from under the sea such as the Lionfish Quilt and the Shell Quilt and although these on my favourite pieces due to the fact I feel they are a little bland I think that the way in which she has died up the background with ink has created a really nice textured affect and is definitely something I could consider doing with my final piece. Furthermore, it is also interesting to see the materials she has used for each piece listed on the websites. Her work has definitely been an insight into look at fabric manipulation for me due to the fact that most of the artists that have created three dimensional installations that I have previously looked at have used clay, whereas Sandra Golbert’s use of fabric has given me a more accurate representation of some of the work I could be creating.Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 14.16.38.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 19.24.15.png

http://www.fiberarte.com/home

Leave a Reply

