Weaving

Due to the fact that I have been trying to push myself into experimenting with new processes during my final major project I decided to create some hand weaves basing the colours on a subject of marine life..

In this case I chose to focus on sea weed and chose a selection of yarns that were each a different shade of green, I considered all the different qualities of each yarn such as the variety of thicknesses and whilst I was creating the yarn I wanted the colours to flow into one another therefore I was very careful with my selection.

I want to create some more weaves within this project that focus on different aspects of marine life, therefore, I have been considering which have interesting qualities and colours, such as jelly fish and star fish. Furthermore, I think the use of different materials like recycled plastic bags could also be used within my weaves to create some different textures and possibly tie in the themes of pollution.

IMG_2264IMG_2268IMG_2263

 

Leave a Reply

